Eligible Cars

All sorts of car, except 4 wheel drive, are welcome and are divided into 8 classes according to the competitiveness of the vehicle. The class structure allows the organisers to vary the tests and the level of performance between the classes. For example class 1 may have a run at the steepest slope, whereas class 8 may have to do a restart test. If you have not yet selected a vehicle then a visit to a trial is a must, if you have, then you need only ensure that it complies with the rules for the class in which it is entered.

See section 4 of the ACTC Rules & Regulations for technical requirements.

Class 1:
Front engine, front wheel drive production cars. This is now an up and coming class where Mk1 Golf GTIs are starting to show their merits. Other popular vehicles are Ford Fiestas, Peugeot 205s and Citroen AXs,  2CVs and one very competitive MG Maestro. A good place to start but not a class for the faint hearted!

Class 2:
Production cars originally manufactured prior to 1941 and the following: MG TC, Morgan 4.4 Series 1, HRG 1100 and 1500, Ford models (upright models to 1959) E04A, E494A, E4930A/B, E93A, E493A & 103A.. The main protagonists are Austin 7s, MMM and T series MGs, the older four wheel Morgans and various Ford Populars. Class 2 Specification Sheet (updated 2009).

Class 3:
Front engined rear wheel drive production saloons. As with many forms of motorsport  a haven for Escort Mk1s and Mk2s, although the occasional Hillman Avenger or Talbot/Chrysler Sunbeam does appear. There is even a couple of  early 3-Series BMW saloons.

Class 4:
Rear engined rear wheel drive production saloons up to and including 1300cc. Primarily 1300 Beetles, but also home to Hillman Imps, Skodas and the occasional Simca or Renault R8.

Class 5:
Front engine production sports cars.  MG Midgets, the occasional MGB. Morgans on the less car-damaging events and a Scimitar SS1. Class 5b Specification Sheet (updated June 2012).

Class 6:
Rear engine, rear wheel drive production cars. The home of some highly modified, or just very large engined VW Beetles.

Class 7:
Production cars modified beyond permitted limits and front engine ‘component’ cars conforming to an accepted specification. The most popular at present are Marlins, Vincents, Lieges and various models of Dutton. ACTC maintain a list of eligible Class 7 ‘component cars’.

Class 8:
Non-production cars. This includes the homebuilt one offs, VW Beach Buggies and purpose built specials, such as Dellows and Trolls.

The term ‘production car’ does not mean that the vehicle may not be modified to improve its performance or handling. Competitors must refer to section M6 of the Motorsport UK Yearbook and the ACTC rules and regulations, for further information and to see what may be modified to allow the vehicle to stay in a class of similar cars.. If the car is modified beyond those limits it may be placed in a higher class, which may mean more difficult routes or restarts.

This class structure can be downloaded here in pdf format.

Motorcycle Classes

Comments are closed